The Story Tellers.. Worth Sharing

I’m fully aware that I have been very bad with updating my blog lately.. but If you know me you’ll understand that sometimes life calls to me .. Yells at me to actually LIVE and not write. The voices have yelled at me lately and I have been stuck in the 1800s. … Maybe you will understand if you read something that will show you my heart a bit for, I AM a Story Teller. ( Scroll Down to see.. The Story Tellers… )

The Story Tellers….

We are the chosen. My feelings are in each family

there is one who seems called to find the ancestors.

 

To put flesh on their bones and make them live

again, to tell the family story and to feel that

somehow they know and approve. To me, doing

genealogy is not a cold gathering of facts, but

instead, breathing life into all who have gone

before.

 

We are the story tellers of the tribe. All tribes have

one. We have been called as it were by our genes.

Those who have gone before cry out to us: Tell

our story. So, we do. In finding them, we somehow

find ourselves.

 

It goes beyond just documenting facts. It goes to

who am I and why do I do the things I do. It goes

to seeing a cemetery about to be lost forever to

weeds and indifference and saying I can’t let this

happen.

 

The bones here are bones of my bone and flesh

of my flesh. It goes to doing something about it.

It goes to pride in what our ancestors were able

to accomplish. How they contributed to what we

are today. It goes to respecting their hardships

and losses, their never giving in or giving up,

their resoluteness to go on and build a life for

their family.

 

It goes to deep pride that they fought to make and

keep us a Nation. It goes to a deep and immense

understanding that they were doing it for us.

 

That we might be born who we are. That we might

remember them. So we do. With love and caring

and scribing each fact of their existence, because

we are them and they are us. So, as a scribe called,

I tell the story of my family. It is up to that one

called in the next generation to answer the call

and take their place in the long line of family

storytellers.  (Author unknown)

Leave a comment