What do I buy the kids for Christmas NOW??

I , like many mothers out there are in a panic. I mean really! Here we are in November all ready and with all the toy recalls going on, nothing feels safe.

I am lucky that my children aren’t ALL tiny. My son is 19, my middle girl is 12, but my littlest.. is under 2. Herein lies the problem.

She still puts toys into her mouth. She explores toys. So off I went to find the best of the best.. or at least MADE IN AMERICA. ( I’ll apologize to the international community now if anyone is offended, but I am just at a LOSS! ) I’d prefer to buy here at home.

Right in the good ole USA. 

Here’s what I found..  http://www.thedailygreen.com/environmental-news/blogs/american/5291

 42214.jpg

This lists the top ten.. for me.. It’s a start. I’m sure it will be more expensive to buy these. Alot are handmade. Bears from vermont, toys from Ohio.. wouldn’t that be better than your child having in the emergency room though??? Check it out!!

32010.jpg

(Photos of Toys From Maple Landmark Woodcraft which is on the top ten-personally I love their things!)

p.s. I found one more… http://toysnotmadeinchina.org

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 05:49:42

    I will not buy any toys from China either!

    Please check out:
    http://americanmadetoys.googlepages.com/americanmadetoys

    for a long list of links to companies that sell toys made in America.

    Reply

  2. Karen Beth
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 19:56:54

    What about buying cloth, felted or wooden toys that are handmade on Etsy? I’ve seen TONS of cute things there!

    Reply

  3. vintagemomcreations
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 22:46:22

    I totally agree Karen!! Today I spent on the forums looking for great toys there!! I’ll be featuring toy makers and other sellers in the next few days. I am really an Etsy Fiend 🙂

    Reply

  4. Marie
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 01:27:48

    Hi Renita, great blog. Etsy is the best. Check out these for your youngest
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=68516&section_id=5009602

    Reply

Leave a Reply

